ActewAGL Llewellyn Series/02

Wednesday 11 and Thursday 12 May 2016 at 7.30pm

Llewellyn Hall, ANU

Buy Tickets

Concert Details

NIGEL WESTLAKE Cudmirrah Fanfare
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 7 in B minor - Unfinished
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 9 in D minor

Stephen Mould Conductor
Soloists from Opera Australia

Stephen Mould conducts what will surely be a riveting concert of orchestral masterpieces opening with a work by our featured composer, Nigel Westlake. It is a thrilling fanfare that will be immediately recognisable to anyone who has ever listened to the ABC’s Radio National. Westlake’s Cudmirrah Fanfare has been reorchestrated especially for this concert and its performance will be a world premiere.

The magic and mystery of Schubert’s most divine orchestral utterance, the glorious and beautiful Unfinished symphony comes next, and to conclude, the inspired and perfect symphonic conception of Beethoven’s ninth symphony with its unforgettable choral finale.

Pre-concert talk at 6.45 pm, door 6, ground floor Llewellyn Hall

Duration 80 minutes, plus interval.